Start blogging by creating a new post. You can edit or delete me by clicking under the comments. You can also customize your sidebar by dragging in elements from the top bar.
John "Jeff" Bass
11/1/2010 01:51:21 am

My earthly brother, Eric, wasn't such a bad guy...even though he used to feed me dirt in the back yard and cackle like a madman while doing so...he was only five-years old. Even though he taught me every swear word I know and all the vulgar "finger" signs, he was an O.K. dude. Although he dug a rail at Rat Beach and wiped out (in his own way) on his 6' 11" RICK "Baby" model, he was a pretty good surfer...

...gee, I might even miss him!! R.I.P., bro...--JB

Reply
Jim Geier
11/10/2010 09:21:31 am

Dear Bass Family (and friends),

I am very sad at the news of Eric's passing. I used to surf with Eric when I was just learning to ride waves, and I will always remember him for his wave prowess and his kindness. I had only recently met up with Jeff on Facebook, and I was hoping to ride up with him one day to visit Eric in Ventura county. Alas, it was not to be.

- Jim Geier

Reply
11/16/2010 09:22:21 am

Eric had copies of some of these photos, and described his Jr. guard accomplishments. My youngest daughtor, Susan, is a Jr. guard each summer in Salt creek, and Bota would come join us around his birthday for a couple of days to hang out on the beach. We would watch Susan do the drills and games.....We sat in the warm summer sun with my wife Mara.She was lucky enough to hear some of our radicle surf stories from the old days!! This last summer, Bota came down, and we celebrated his birthday at the one restaurant in Dana harbor, ( forget the name..)where you can watch baseball, and the bots come in at the same time.
We had a blast!

Reply
11/18/2010 08:15:51 am

I always had a secret crush on Lisa's big brothers...yeah, that's right, check out these photos, tell me they weren't hot!...always had a weakness for surfers! But seriously, I always thought they were sooo cool. I remember the first time I heard Led Zeppelin was at their house in PV, they had the first album and were playing Good Times, Bad Times. I love that song! Lisa and I had fun with her brothers surfboards in the pool, don't tell. God bless your big brothers, it is comforting to know about your texts with Joe about Eric, and Jesus. Thanks for keeping me in the loop...Oh yeah, my ex was a buddy of Mike Huwe's too! Man, that guy gets around!

Reply



Leave a Reply.